Aesthetics – The Value of Theatre #BNHSTheatre1ART

What is my viewpoint on “artistic expression”? This analysis of two quotes from two different aesthetic philosophers will contribute to the conclusion of what my artistic statement is.

pimp-a-butterfly-aa71fd87e2c23639

Kendrick Lamar

“My whole thing is to inspire, to better people, to better myself forever in this thing we call rap, this thing we call hip hop.” -Kendrick Lamar

Kendrick Lamar’s goal is to create art by being the good in society and make the world a better place. By writing songs about his hard life, he can reach out to those who can “see his colors”, or better understand him and have lived through similar experiences.

“I remember you was conflicted, misusing your influence, sometimes I did the same. Abusing my power, full of resentment, resentment that turned into a deep depression. Found myself screaming in a hotel room, I didn’t wanna self-destruct. The evils of Lucy was all around me, so I went looking for answers. Until I came home, but that didn’t stop survivor’s guilt. Going back and forth, trying to convince myself of the stripes I earned. Or maybe how A-1 my foundation was, but while my loved ones was fighting the continuous war back in the city, I was entering a new one. A war that was based on apartheid and discrimination, made me wanna go back to the city and tell the homies what I learned. The word was respect. Just because you wore a different gang color from mine’s, doesn’t mean I can’t respect you as a black man. Forgetting all the pain and hurt we caused each other in these streets. If I respect you, we unify and stop the enemy trying to kill us. But I don’t know, I’m no mortal man, maybe I’m just another guy.” – Outro from Mortal Man, To Pimp A Butterfly, Kendrick Lamar

Kendrick Lamar describes what happened to him, a series of events in which changed his life forever. He was forced into gang violence as a young teen, living in the rough streets of Compton, CA. He describes himself as “a good kid in a mad city” which depicts his contradictory feelings toward gang violence and inner city culture.  He is no mortal man, and he has made mistakes in his life; but he can teach others about his mistakes in his songs and hopefully they’ll learn, too. Everyone makes mistakes and anyone can learn from them, even within art, whether it’s in a song or in a painting.

Black-white_photograph_of_Emily_Dickinson2.png

Emily Dickinson

Find ecstasy in life; the mere sense of living is joy enough.” -Emily Dickinson

Emily Dickinson, the appraised American poet, gives a pithy answer to a complex philosophy. The commonly asked question “What is the meaning of life?” is answered by Emily in this short response. Basically, enjoying life is what Emily believes because at least you are alive, why not celebrate it? You cannot live and not appreciate life (unless you are insane), for life is the greatest gift you’ll ever receive. Anyone can do this, especially in the form of art.  Art can help you express your gratitude for your life and for other’s.

“Behavior is what a man does, not what he thinks, feels, or believes.” – Emily Dickinson

In order to cause something to happen, you must do something about it first. You cannot simply think, feel, or wish something to happen without actually doing something about it. With art, you can express your feelings freely and you’re not just feeling it; you’re expressing it.

Artistic Statement

Art is something that is expressed through someone’s thoughts, beliefs, ideas and feelings to get a certain point or message across in different medians such as music, poetry, art itself, to perform and many more ways. You can express your thoughts and ideas in art with ease. Emily Dickinson and Kendrick Lamar demonstrate artistic expression with elevated ability.  Art is the never-ending surplus of creativity that has some kind of message within it’s multiple layers; you can express yourself and make something amazing out of it.

By: Hannah Freedman Theater 1 – 1st Period

Citations: “Genius Is the World’s Biggest Collection of Song Lyrics and Crowd sourced Musical Knowledge. Join Us.” Genius. N.p., n.d. Web. 14 Sept. 2016.

“Famous Quotes at BrainyQuote.” BrainyQuote. Xplore, n.d. Web. 14 Sept. 2016.

2 thoughts on “Aesthetics – The Value of Theatre #BNHSTheatre1ART

  1. I like that you had long explanations of the quotes, because that really helped to understand the meaning of the quotes better! I just think that some of the quotes don’t relate to art that much, for example the song text from Kendrick Lamar

Leave a Reply

