David Bowie and Anthony Michael Hall

By: Ben Parker

20160112_bowie_hp-slide-dmxr-superjumbo

David Bowie-

               “As an adolescent, I was painfully shy, withdrawn. I didn’t really have the nerve to sing my songs on stage and nobody else was doing them. I decided to do them in disguise to that I didn’t have to actually go through the humiliation of going on stage and being myself. I continued designing characters with their own complete personalities and environments. I put them into interviews with me! Rather than be me – which must be incredibly boring to anyone – I’d take Ziggy in, or Aladdin Sane or The Thin White Duke. It was a very strange thing to do.”

  • He created his own way of  coping through his shyness by creating his own characters to play during performances. These characters that he used show how you can do anything through dedication and thinking through it; any idea you come up with could work all you need to do is try.

               “I had to resign myself, many years ago, that I’m not too articulate when it comes to explaining how I feel about things. But my music does it for me, it really does.

  • Your work should describe how you are, for example if it is art or music, it shows how talented you are at drawing or making music. I think that it describes how and who you are while you are doing what you love to do.

dc7be413099027dff3874eeb23e6ca0a

Anthony Michael Hall-

              “It’s important for an actor to learn, despite the success I had as a kid, that it’s important to understand what it means to be a small fish in a big pond.”

  • When you are a famous actor you have to learn to understand that there are a lot of actors besides you, that you aren’t going to be in the spotlight all the time and that its okay for it to be like that.

“ You want to do work that is remembered, you want to be a part of something that is remembered.”

  • Everyone wants to be remembered for something, whether it be how they do something or what they do. It may be something big or something small, but being famous comes from hard work and dedication. You want to be a part of something important or something that will be remembered by a lot of people, which is exactly what an actor or a musician strives for.

Artistic Statement: Art is a very diverse group of things, but it can also have things that are similar to each other, like for example when being an actor or a musician you need to have the courage and be dedicated to go out on stage and sing or to work hard so you can be remembered by everyone that has seen/listened to what you do. 

 

2 thoughts on “David Bowie and Anthony Michael Hall

  1. I like how you pick the second quote of Anthony Michael Hall because I feel that it is exactly what an artist should set there goals to as well.

Leave a Reply

